top of page

Welcome to Scotlandville Pre-Engineering Magnet Academy (SPEMA). We are delighted that your parents/guardians are giving us the opportunity to provide you with a rewarding educational experience. We are glad YOU are here.

Our SPEMA core values are reflected in the acronym R.A.I.S.E.: Respect – everyone has the right to safety and dignity at school; speak to each other with calmness, politeness and civility. Accountability – holding ourselves accountable for our actions and always striving to be our best selves. Integrity – being driven by honesty and a clear moral compass always striving to do the right thing. Spirit of Excellence – striving for excellence in academics, athletics, and artistic pursuits. These values translate into providing our students a safe and challenging learning environment where our scholars are encouraged to master the skills they need to be successful now and in the future.

Our goal is to provide a wide range of experiences while building strong relationships between school, home, and community. I hope you will engage with us and continue the legacy of excellence that has been set forth at SPEMA. SPEMA scholars are Successful, Talented, Amazing, Loyal, Limitless, Intelligent, Outstanding and Noble. Show your STALLION Pride everyday and together we will have a GREAT year!

Jannette Davis, Principal

SPEMA offers a robust STEAM curriculum. Our scholars are exposed to 21st century concepts that require critical thinking skills. In addition to the core subjects, scholars have the opportunity to experience expansive elective offerings in technology – robotics, coding, game design, engineering design and multimedia productions; the arts – dance, art, ceramics, and band; non-traditional courses – agriscience and graphic design; and high school credit courses – Algebra I, Geometry, Spanish, Art I, Keyboarding, Keyboarding Applications, and Quest for Success.

SPEMA has a legacy of excellence. It is the first dedicated STEAM middle magnet school in East Baton Rouge Parish and the only Nationally Certified STEAM themed school in the state of Louisiana. It has received five national recognitions, over $150,000 in grants, developed numerous business partnerships, received top honors in national competitions, won athletic championships, and used the technology gained from engineering to impact the community (redesigning a car, creating prosthetic hands, and providing food from our garden).

My goal as principal is to assist in helping our scholars navigate through a fast paced and ever-changing world. I hope that by providing enriching educational opportunities and a strong partnership with parents, we can guide our scholars to success as well as sustain and build on the SPEMA legacy. Your continued support is crucial to the success of our scholars and school.

IMG_0028.HEIC
MSA-CERTIFICATION SEAL (3).png
Image (2).jpeg
32.png

Patricia Roberson

Executive Secretary

PRoberson@ebrschools.org

20.png

Debra Andrews

Attendance Clerk

DDavis4@ebrschools.org

CLERICAL

LEADERSHIP TEAM

25.png

Jannette Davis

Not Pictured (1).png

Dwayne Nedie

Dean of Students

DNedie@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured.png

Toi Thomas

Dean of Students

TRogers@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (1).png

Kirsten Hickingbottom

Magnet Site Coordinator

KHickingbottom@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured.png

Stephanie McCoy

School Counselor

SRoberson@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (2).png

Reynard Douglas

Family & Community Engagement Facilitator

RDouglas3@ebrschools.org

faculty

22.png

Lashunda Antoine

Not Pictured (4).png

Courtney Bailey

Not Pictured (4).png

Michael Brooks

18.png

Kendra Collins

School Librarian

KCollins@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (4).png

Trasula Clark

ESS

Email not available

23.png

Tanya Dargin

Social Studies

TDargin@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (4).png

Isabelle Gilmore-Collins

Not Pictured (1).png

Diree Gipson

26.png

Travis Harris

Not Pictured.png

Charles Hearns

Health and Physical Education

CHearns@ebrschools.org

Untitled design.png

Andrei Henderson

ESS

Health & Physical Education

AHenderson4@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (4).png

Brianna Jacob

12.png

Nikita Lacour-Dukes

Mathematics

Engineering Design

Agricultural Science

NLacour@ebrschools.org

16.png

Stephanie Major-Gibbs

Keyboarding

Coding

SGibbs@ebrschools.org

9.png

Kashundra Nedie

Mathematics

Game Design

KStewart1@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (3).png

Janesa Richardson

Dance 

Graphic Design

Digital Media

JRichardson2@ebrschools.org

14.png

Ida Thomas

Speech Therapist

IThomas@ebrschools.org

Not Pictured (4).png

Brandy Veals

28.png

Mary Walker

Reset Room Moderator

MWalker91@ebrschools.org

13.png

Tromel Willis

Paraprofessionals

30.png

Ezekiel Alsander

Paraprofessional

EAlsander@ebrschools.org

5.png

Jason Givens

Paraprofessional

JGivens@ebrschools.org

17.png

Chelsea Jones

Paraprofessional

CJones19@ebrschools.org

2.png

Raven McQuirter

Paraprofessional

RMcQuirter@ebrschools.org

8.png

Siconya Phillips

Paraprofessional

SPhillips@ebrschools.org

4.png

Angela Taylor

Paraprofessional

AWhitmore2@ebrschools.org

CUSTODIAL

Not Pictured (4).png

Mr. Willie

Head Custodian

bottom of page